2023 Amapro Bet9ja Football Championship kicked off in style on Monday at the Kwara Football Academy Pitch.

Spread the love

Day One provided with some interesting encounters and upsets.

Kwara United duo of Godwin Oshagbemi and Abubakar Garba powered Kwara Football Academy (KFA) to a 2-1 comeback win over Defending Champions, NNL All Stars.

Olasoju Jamiu put the reigning champions into the lead. Oshagbemi headed home on 29 minutes to restore parity. Garba powered in the winner five minutes after the hour mark.

Amapro Selected SA and Da Faria SC settled for a goalless draw.

Both sides had good chances to grab a win in their first game but it was only going to end in a stalemate.

2021 finalists, Abraysports FC came from a goal down to beat Ajaokuta FA 2-1 in their opening game.

Hyacinth Lazarus put Ajaokuta FA ahead early in the first half with a screamer from outside the area. Molaoye Abiodun leveled scoring with a fine header from a good Suraj Adebayo’s cross.

Abraysports FC went ahead late in the game, after Suraj Adebayo directed a fine cross from the corner kick into Ajaokuta’s area and Mubaraq Hammed headed home the winner.

A shock defeat for the Pro Leaguers, as they fell to a late goal from first timers, Le Pass SSA.

Pro Leaguers had a chance to go ahead after winning a penalty in the second half but Afeez Yusuf missed.

A fine counter attack from Le Pass SSA eventually determined the outcome of the match. Tajudeen Abdulateef put Le Pass SSA ahead with a beautiful curler down the right as experienced Lukman Orire was in no man’s land.

The first half between Jazzy Stars FA and HMK FC ended in draw as both sides failed to convert their good chances.

The Jos based side opened the scoring in the second half with a fine header from Ebenezer Okereke before Alabi Sodiq leveled from the penalty spot late in the game.

SGFC Athletics SC secured a 2-0 win over Gateway FA of Ekiti with goals coming from Sunday Ekene and Adebowale Awolola on 68th and 75th minutes respectively.

Dickalo FA recorded the heaviest win of the day as they thrashed Teworh SC 5-0.

A brace from Lawal Azeez and Kolawole Daniel and a strike from Adams Ibrahim powered Dickalo FA to resounding victory over Kaduna based side, Teworh SC.

Laycon FA produced an upset as they came from behind to beat NPFL All Stars 2-1, courtesy of goals from David John and Olaniyan Moshood to cancel out Babatunde Taofeek’s 56th minute opener.

This tournament is proudly sponsored by foremost Nigerian betting company, Bet9ja.

Matchday 1 Results:

Amapro Selected SA 0-0 Da Faria

Dickalo FA 5-0 Teworh SC

SGFC Athletics 2-0 Gateway FA

KFA 2-1 NNL All Stars

Abraysports 2-1 Ajaokuta FA

Le Pass SSA 1-0 Pro Leaguers

Laycon FA 2-1 NPFL All Stars

Jazzy Stars FA 1-1 HMK FC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *