2023 NWFL Championship: Sunshine Queens defeat Honey Badgers FC

Spread the love

Sunshine Queens football club of Akure continued their 100 percent winning at the ongoing Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Championship with 2-1 Victory against Honey Badgers FC of Benue.

The match day two of the championship played at Ebedei Stadium, Sagamu Ogun State saw Kehinde Aganmuyi fired a thunderous strike from outside the box into the top roof of the net to give the Akure based side the lead in the 63rd minute.

Honey Badgers FC reacted like a wounded lion with the intent to get a quick leveller but Sunshine Queens defense consisted of Foluke Opeyori, Miracle Ohaeri, Kehinde Aganmuyi and Divine Onwuchekwa dealt with all their antics.

However, tactical substitution by the Akure based ladies gaffer, Oladimeji Abimbola paid off as Amarachi Onuoha who came on for Suliat Ajibade extends Sunshine Queens lead to 2-0 in the 83rd minute.

The Benue side, pressed home to get a penalty in the 90th minute after Sunshine Queens player, Foluke Opeyori was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the box.

The spot kick was converted by the Honey Badgers in the 93rd minute to change the score line to 2-1.

The Sunshine Queens Coach had earlier substituted the team captain, Taiwo Ajibade for Shola Oduwale who was injured in the first half of the encounter before he brought Joy Falegan into the fray replacing Ireti Eretan to calm the tension of the game.

Head coach of Sunshine Queens, Oladimeji Abimbola said the match was an improvement from his side compared to the first match.

He insisted that his side will continue to approach the game one after the other, saying there is no pressure from our side.

“I commend the girls for their efforts, by increasing the goal tally from one goal yesterday, to two goals today, we shall continue to keep the momentum going.”

Sunshine Queens now have gannered six points from two matches played .

The Ondo State sponsored side will play host to Lakeside Queens FC on the match day three at the same venue by 11 Am on Tuesday 11, 2023 after a rest day on Monday.

Starting XI

Lucky Andy, kehinde Aganmuyi,Taiwo Ajibade, Ireti Eretan, Foluke Opeyori, Divine Onwuchekwa, Miracle Ohaeri, Taiwo Aganmuyi, Moyin Owolabi, Suliat Ajibade, Precious Edewor.

Subs; Shola Oduwale (36), Amarachi Onuoha (80), Joy Falegan (89).
unused subs: Bright Etim 22, Ayowumi Omosuyi, Timilehin Towobola, Ayomide Olatunji ,Ololade Akintunde, Mary Popoola 8

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *