2023 Yachine Trophy Nominees – Revealed

Spread the love

By Sedara Philip

The 10 nominees for the 2023 Yachine Trophy, which recognises the best goalkeeper of the year as part of the annual Ballon d’Or ceremony, have been revealed.

The award, named for legendary former Soviet Union goalkeeper Lev Yashim, was created in 2019 for a newly expanded Ballon d’Or and has been won in the past by Alisson, Gianluigi Donnarumma and Thibaut Courtois. The latter, a Champions League winner with Real Madrid this year and the current holder of the Yachine after his triumph in 2022, is among the nominees again.

He is joined by a collection of elite goalkeepers who have excelled at club or international level over the past 12 months. That includes Yassine Bounou, who helped Morocco become the first African team to reach the semi-finals of a World Cup and won the Europa League with Sevilla.

Ederson and Andre Onana, who kept goal opposite each in the 2023 Champions League final and now line up on opposite sides of the Manchester football divide, are also nominated. Aaron Ramsdale is recognised for his form with Arsenal, with Aston Villa’s Emiliano Martinez played an absolutely crucial role in Argentina’s World Cup win in December.

Yachine Tophy 2023 nominees
Yassine Bounou – Sevilla/Al Hilal
Ederson – Manchester City
Mike Maignan – AC Milan
Andre Onana – Inter/Manchester United
Brice Samba – Lens
Thibaut Courtois – Real Madrid
Dominik Livakovic – Dinamo Zagreb/Fernbahce
Emiliano Martinez – Aston Villa
Aaron Ramsdale – Arsenal
Marc-Andre Ter Stegen – Barcelona

When is the Yachine Trophy 2023 winner announced?
The Yachine Trophy will be awarded to the best young player in Europe on 30 October at an award ceremony at Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *