Abuja to host BeeCass Chess and Scrabble fiesta

Spread the love

…Three categories to be competed for at the Fiesta

By Maxwell Kumoye

The Indoor Sports Complex, Package B, Moshood Abiola, national stadium, Abuja has been selected to host the BeeCass Chess and Scrabble Fiesta scheduled to take place on Monday the 21st of August.

We gather that Abuja was picked because of its strategic location in the North Central region and it’s excellent sporting facilities and as well as good lodging homes.

Three categories will be competed in Scrabble, Masters, Intermediate and the junior event for 15 year old kids and below in the one day championship.

To participate in the Masters category a player will pay 5000 naira as registration fee and must have at least 1300 catchment points while Intermediate participants will have to pay 3000 as entry fee and a cut off rating points of 1299 and below. The junior event is free. Registration closes mid night on Friday 18th of this month.

Each registered player will get a branded T-shirt and the first fifty players to enter for the competition will be served some refreshments during the event.

The Masters and Intermediate events will be a ten rounds of games each and each player will have 20 minutes par rounds and there will be one random, seven lagged and two king of the hill pairings.

The BeeCass Chess and Scrabble Fiesta is Nigeria Scrabble Federation (NSF) rated and current WESPA rules will apply while the 2021 Collins Scrabble Words Dictionary will be the reference material.

Over six hundred and fifty thousand naira has been ear marked as prize money and the winner of the masters will get one hundred thousand naira while the Intermediate winner has sixty thousand naira to go home with and thirty thousand naira has been set aside for the winner of the U-15 category.

Besides the cash prizes, spots prizes and a token scholarship support will be given to the top three kids.

The organizers are enjoying a lot of support from the corporate world and they are expecting players from Niger, Kwara, Plateau, Nasarawa, Kogi, Benue and FCT to participate in the championship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *