Bayelsa State Football Association to Hold Elective Congress on 9th June, 2023.


— Constitutes Electoral and Appeals Committees.

By— Alambo Datonye Fred

Ahead of Elections to choose leaders to pilot the affairs of the Bayelsa State Football Association for a new term, two new Committees, the Electoral and Appeals Committees have been constituted.

According to the list made known as the 2023 Annual General Assembly of the Bayelsa State Football Association, held in Yenagoa, the Electoral Committee is headed by Mr. Zuzu Ebimotimi Noel as Chairman, Nwankwe Diseye Laye is to serve as Secretary and Anthony Blessing, Co-Secretary.

The Appeals Committee is led by Chief Patimidi Roland Tukuru as Chairman and Barrister Diseye Gbefa as Secretary.
Based on the Timetable released for the Election, Sales and Nomination of Forms is scheduled for 23rd May to 2nd June, 2023 as Screening of Candidates will take place on 5th June, 2023 while publication of list of candidates holds on 6th June, 2023.

Appeals are slated for 7th June, 2023 while the Election is billed for 9th June, 2023 at the Latik Hotel, INEC Road, Yenagoa.

Highpoint of the Assembly was the adoption of the Committees by Congress.

In an opening remark at the 2023 Annual General Assembly, the State FA Chairman, Barrister Poubeni Ogun said the Association had recorded tremendous achievements in the last three years.

The Vice Chairman of the State FA, Fubara Owonaro who stood in for the Chairman reeled out these achievements to include assisting Bayelsa United and Bayelsa Queens to win the AITEO Cup competitions, ensuring Bayelsa United’s return to the elite Nigeria Premier Football League, Bayelsa Queens to win the Nigeria Women’s Premier Football League titles in 2018 and 2021, Crystal Star’s qualification into the Pro Women’s League, Henserd FC into the Nigeria National League, Kolu United in the Nigeria Nationwide League, as well as assistance to State Referees to attend Fitness Tests outside the State and grassroots Coaches, Organised the State League, the State Youth League, NNL Super 4, NWFL Play offs, promotion of 3 more Referees to join the Only Referee from the State in the Nigeria Premier League, 3 Match Commissioners and 2 Match Assessors as plans are on to organize the First Female League in the country.

He appreciated football stakeholders especially Governor Douye Diri and his Deputy, Dr. Peter Singabele, the Sports Ministry and Sports Council and the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria for the massive support the State FA had enjoyed.

Chairman of the State Chapter of the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN, Mr. Datonye Alambo commended the Bayelsa State Football Association for its landmark achievements. While pledging the continued support of Sports Journalists to its activities, Mr. Alambo charged the Association to initiate programmes to extend football development at the grassroots and communities across the State.

The last Elective Congress of the State FA was held in June, 2019.

Google search engine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here