Coach Shittu Picks 14 Players As Nigeria’s Under 18 Girls Handball Team Set Out For IHF Trophy Africa Zone 3 Phase


By Sedara Philip

Nigeria’s Under 18 girls handball team left the shore of the country on Monday for the IHF Trophy Africa Zone 3 phase which will hold in Accra Ghana.

The Coach Shittu Agboola Adewunmi’s tutored side have been training in at the Rowe Park Sports Center in Lagos and will participate in the group A of the under 18 category alongside the host, Ghana, Liberia and Niger Republic with Nigeria beginning their campaign against Niger Republic in the very first match of the competition.

The match will hold at the Tennis Arena of the Accra Sports Stadium.

To this end, Coach Shittu Adewunmi picked his final list of 14 players that will do business for Nigeria at the championship. The players include Rahima Bello of Rima Babes and Vera John of Bayelsa Queens, who was national division one most valuable player in Benin City, Edo State.

The team had played two vital friendly matches against Lagos Under 18 boys team and All Star Senior Female Team as part of their preparation for the IHF Trophy Africa Zone 3 tournament.

Final List of Players

  1. Esther Mathew – SEASIDERS Lagos
  2. Amina Mohd- SOKOTO Rima
  3. Rahima Bello – SOKOTO Rima
  4. Lucy Onyekwere- SOKOTO Rima
  5. Chidera Ogbusimba – SOKOTO Rima
  6. Monica Opara- SOKOTO Rima
  7. Vera John- Bayelsa Queens
  8. Prudence Samuel- SOKOTO Rima
  9. Munira Kasimu- SOKOTO Rima
  10. Oparaugo Amarachi- Imo Grasshopper
  11. Taiwo Babatunde- Seasiders
  12. Okolo Joan – Kutus Academy, Delta
  13. Samuel Precious- SOKOTO Rima
  14. Kehinde Babatunde – Seasiders Babes


  1. Agboola Shittu Adewunmi
  2. Opuene Roberts
  3. Abdulahi Suleiman

Cosmos Chukwuemeka Akisi
HFN Media Assistant

Facebook: HFN TV

Twitter: @handballnigeria

Instagram: Handball Nigeria

YouTube: Handball Federation of Nigeria

Google search engine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here