Nigeria Olympians Association lists 22 distinguished personalities for merit awards

Spread the love

The Nigeria Olympians Association has listed 22 Nigerian sports personalities which include 16 of the country’s accomplished athletes for a. Merit award this evening.

According to the President. Of the Nigeria Olympians Association, Olumide Oyedeji Oyedeji, the distinguished five Nigerian personalities will all be given merit awards for their commitment to the development of sports in Nigeria.

The five personalities include: the Sport-loving Deputy Governor of Edo State, the Rtd Honorable Philip Shaibu.

Others are Aare Adetola Emmanuel King the Group Managing Director of Adron Homes Nigeria Ltd, Chief Sunday Dare the immediate past Minister for Youth and Sports, Sports Philanthropist Chief Yemi Idowu, the president of the Nigeria Olympic Committee Engineer Habu Gumel. And Dr. Eunice Erdoo Ortom, the wife of the former Benue State Governor.

The sixteen accomplished athletes that will be presented merit awards at the Shehu Musa Yar’ Adua Centre, Abuja are seven times Olympian and multiple Commonwealth Games champion Segun Toriola in table tennis, multiple African champion Funke Oshonaike (table tennis), African record holder in the Long Jump fir 27 years Yusuf Ali in Athletics, former president Nigeria Olympians Association Prince Henry Amike in Athletics, Lawrence Adegbehingbe Commonwealth medallist (athletics), Samson Oyeledun (athletics), Fransome Adeyanju (athletics), two times Olympic medalist Chief Falilat Ogunkoya (athletics) and Christy Okpara (athletics).

Others are Jerry Okorodudu post humous award in boxing, Muyiwa Oshode (football), Ganiyu Salami (football), Durojaiye Adigun, Kenneth Olayombo (football), Ogenejobo Emmanuel Peters 2008 Olympian (taekwondo) and Emilia Edet 1972 Olympics (athletics).

The president of the NOA noted that, the merit award with the theme “Labour of Heroes of Past”, was carefully selected to graciously reward Nigerian past Heroes who did the country proud in their various active years. The award is form of appreciation to all the award winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *