Peter’s Lone Goal Secures Victory For Elekole FC As Ekiti Obas Cup Season 2 Ends Amidst Appreciation To Ekiti Obas Council

Spread the love

The Oluyemi Kayode Stadium in Ado was the venue of the final match of the Ekiti Obas Cup Season 2 on Tuesday as Oniye FC took on Elekole FC in the final match decided at the Oluyemi Kayode Stadium in Ado Ekiti.

A lone goal was all that seperated the two teams as coaches of both sides are familiar with each other even though they moved from teams parade last year to new teams.

The only goal of the game that gave Elekole FC victory was scored by Peter Daniel 11 minutes into the second half as Oniye FC could not find an equalizer while the match lasted.

The Ekiti Obas led by the chairman of the Obas Council, Oba Gabriel Adejuwon (Onisan of Isan-Ekiti) patiently waited to enjoy the full match.

Also present were Oniye of Iye-Ekiti and Elemure of Emure Ekiti who accompanied the Onisan to honour Ekiti youths as the winner went home with gold trophy, medals plus cash reward while the runners up went home with medals and cash rewards.

Timileyin Samuel of Alaworoko FC was named the most valuable player following his superlative performance, creativity, diligence and maturity on the pitch.

The trophy and MVP award were donated by Johnny Sports merchants while Portofino Eatery, Ado Ekiti donated the medals for the two finalists.

Kolawole Olayinka of Elekole FC scored 4 goals to emerge as highest goal scorer while the goalkeeper of Arajaka FC, Kayode Araeko was spotted as the Best Young goalkeeper of the tournament.

Several other youngsters were also spotted by the members of the organizing committee headed by famous sports journalist and Ceo of The Gogetter Multi Links who also doubles as Head of Organizing Committee and Chairman Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN Ekiti State chapter, Qozeem Oladapo popularly known as De Gogetter.

While appreciating the immense support accorded the competition by the Ekiti Obas Council, the organizer informed the royal fathers that efforts were in top gear to attract sponsorship to the annual Youth Soccer Championship through corporate and private concerns while discussion has reached appreciable height with a leading betting company on Nigeria, BETKING.

Oladapo who is known for his tireless efforts at organizing different sporting competitions including table tennis, scrabble, Ayo olopon and soccer said some of the outstanding players will be considered for scholarships courtesy of some royal fathers including the Onisan of Isan-Ekiti, Apeju of Ilupeju Ekiti, Alara of Aramoko Ekiti, Alawe of Ilawe Ekiti and Ajero of Ijero Ekiti who were all named Pillars of Support for the competition.

Also at the occasion, some sports passionate personalities were given awards in appreciation and recognition of their strides at developing sports.

Some of the award recipients were the governor of Ekiti State, Mr Biodun Abayomi Oyebanji (Outstanding Sportsmanship Award), Oba Gabriel Adejuwon Onisan of Isan-Ekiti, Ceo of Olukismet Foundation, Prince Festus Adegboye (Outstanding Sports Investor Award) Otunba Adebowale Kolawole (Sports Philanthropist Award) , Hon Omotayo Babatunde Jolly (Sports Philanthropist Award) Ademola Agbana (Outstanding Football Coach Award), Sunday Julius Ogunlusi of Onifisin FC (Outstanding Sports Passion Award), Mr Segun Oke of Bridgewater Foundation (Outstanding Sports Innovation Award), Osundahunsi Oluwalonimi of Alara FC (Outstanding Fair Play Award), Tosin Popoola of Voice FM, Ado Ekiti who presents Sports on radio in both Yoruba and English languages (Outstanding Sports Journalist Award), Tennis player and Africa’s junior best player, Seun Ogunsakin ( Outstanding Sportsman Award), Ceo of Vicolas Group, Olamide Victor Ibitoye, (Outstanding Young Gogetter Award) Dr Adebowale Adeyeye (Outstanding Youth and Sports Impact Maker Award) Hon Dele Owoju (Outstanding Fan of De Gogetter Brand Award), Ogundipe Abiodun Bright (Football Future Star Award) and Elder Shyllon Olumuyiwa Aregbesola (Indefatigable Sportsman Award)

The immediate past chairman of Ekiti State Obas Council, Oba Gabriel Adejuwon, Onisan of Isan-Ekiti was also specially recognized and appreciated by the Ekiti Obas Cup organizers for approving, endorsing and supporting the Ekiti Obas Cup as the youth soccer competition started during his tenure as Obas Council chairman while the chairman of Ajoni LCDA, Prince Micheal Ogungbemi and an Ado Ekiti born political big wig, Hon (Mrs) Olajumoke Olaniyan also grabbed awards

All the award recipients were recognized based on different roles played and different efforts made towards the development of sports based on their individual mental, financial and technical capabilities.

In attendance at the Ekiti Obas Cup Season 2 Grand Finale were the Chairman Ekiti State House of Assembly Committee on Sport, Mr Idowu Odebunmi (Aluta) , Permanent Secretary Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, Barrister Bamidele Arowosola, retired Permanent Secretary, Mr Yemi Owoseni and octogenarian ex-footballer, Pastor Segun Adelakun while the Ekiti FA Chairman, chief Olu Oloworemo was represented by FA Board, Mr Gboyega Afolabi among other notable figures.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *