Why Liverpool Were Not Awarded Penalty After Gabriel’s Handball in Defeat to Arsenal at the Emirates

0

By Sedara Oluwadara

The Premier League has released a statement explaining why Liverpool were not awarded a penalty after Gabriel’s handball during their clash on Sunday, October 9, at the Emirate s Stadium.

At the time, Liverpool were trailing their hosts by a goal scored courtesy of Gabriel Martinelli after just 58 seconds.

The Reds thought they had a perfect chance to restore parity 15 minutes later after Gabriel handled the ball inside the area from Diogo Jota’s cross.

However, referee Michael Oliver opted not to award a penalty, with VAR also failing to overturn the decision after a review .

The Reds thought they had a perfect chance to restore parity 15 minutes later after Gabriel handled the ball inside the area from Diogo Jota’s cross.

However, referee Michael Oliver opted not to award a penalty, with VAR also failing to overturn the decision after a review.

The decision did not go down well with the Liverpool camp, with the club’s set of players and fans insisting they deserved to have been awarded a spot-kick.

The Premier League has now explained that a penalty was not awarded due to Gabriel’s close proximity to Jota and the ball when the cross was played.

“The proximity of the player whose hand or arm makes contact with the ball to where the ball was struck from will still be an important consideration for officials when making a decision to award handball or not.”

Google search engine

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here